Skip to main content

Novel Coronavirus — June 22, 2022 Update: Explore Scouts Canada’s actions as we continue to follow the direction of government and health agencies in maintaining public health. View recommendations and stay informed here. Learn more about Scouts Canada's new vaccination mandate.

CEC Recognition in 2020-21

April 20, 2021

In addition to recognizing all our volunteers during this year’s National Volunteer Week (April 18-24, 2021), we would like to take a moment to call out some special recognition presented this past Scouting Year.

Milestone Years of Service – the following Scouters were recognized for Years of Service milestones of 50 years or more:

  • 50 Year Service Pin
    • George Henderson (1st Acton)
    • Brian Soehner (1st Elmira)
    • Sandra O'Kapiec (5th Meadowvale)
    • Joan Barty (CE Blue Springs Camp Committee)
    • John Edwards (CE Blue Springs Camp Committee)
  • 55 Year Service Pin
    • Marquis Young (CE Blue Springs Camp Committee)
  • 60 Year Service Pin
    • Brian Reiner (11th Kitchener)


Medal of the Maple Recipients - To honour YOUTH who contribute to the Scouting Movement and the spirit of Scouting through community service, extraordinary Scouting participation, and a solid system of personal values.

  • Kevin Didi (6th Erin Mills)
  • Zachary (Zach) Kelly-Bruton (4th Trafalgar)


Silver Acorn Recipients - For especially distinguished service that extends beyond the group or section level.

  • Rob Byce (3rd Meadowvale)
  • Albert Chapman (3rd Guelph)
  • Shelley Dyet (12th Cambridge)
  • Jennifer Levitt Birdsall (Central Escarpment Council)
  • Eva Robinson (4th Port Credit)

Bar to the Silver Acorn Recipients - For continued contributions of especially distinguished service and equivalent to earning a second Silver Acorn

  • Peter Barber (4th Trafalgar)
  • George Christian (CEC CCJ Committee)
  • Bruce Findlay (Blue Springs Camp Committee)
  • Michael Neely (5th Meadowvale)
  • Cliff Paquette (5th Meadowvale)


Thank you to all our volunteers.  Don’t forget to express your thanks to your local volunenteers though the Thanks button (

If you have any questions or issues, you can contact the CEC Recognition team through


Albert Fuchigami
Central Escarpment Council Support Team
Council Recognition Administrator